No Bake Banana Cookies

“So, I’ll just chuck these out…”

The words that caused me to rescue two slightly spotted bananas from my husband and hide them overnight while I looked for a new banana recipe that wouldn’t involve baking as…

Well, I could say it is too hot, which it is, but the truth… I have spent the morning making supper and a Summer Pudding so baking just seemed too much work.

I admit it.  I was too lazy to bake.

I googled and came up with this.  I only had two bananas but reckoned that would be okay.  Also, divide into 24… really?? You want me to look at a bowl of battery stuff and mentally divide it into 24? I used an ice cream scoop and came up with 15.

I didn’t read the reviews in advance…

I am glad I didn’t.   The reviews aren’t great.  In my opinion the cookies are good, they do need to be kept chilled though.

No bake cookies ready to be chilled

Easy Chiquita Banana No Bake Cookies Recipe

  • 3   Chiquita Bananas, with brown flecks
  • 1   cup Sugar
  • 1/2   cup Butter
  • 1/2   cup 2% Milk
  • 1/2   cup Peanut butter
  • 3   cups Quick cook oatmeal
  • 2   cups chopped Walnuts
  • 1   tsp. Vanilla extract
  • 1/2   tsp. Kosher salt
  • 1/4   cup Cocoa powder (optional)

Combine first four ingredients in sauce pan and bring to a boil.

Stir frequently until mixture has a smooth consistency.

Remove from stove and stir in the remaining ingredients.

Divide batter into 24 cookies, place on wax paper and let cool completely, then refrigerate for 1 hour.

Store in an air-tight container.

http://www.chiquitabananas.com/Banana-Recipes/Banana-No-Bake-Cookies-recipe.aspx

Ready to eat…

