Creamy Onion Soup

I have a confession…

I haven’t been cooking for a while now, partially due to health and partially due to being married to the only man in the history of creation who really only ever wants to eat spaghetti bolognese.

And you really can’t cook that in too many different ways(well you can, but he likes it one way),  and definitely you can’t blog about it.

But this morning as I was making the 100th serving of Wild Onion Bisque on a facebook game I suddenly decided that instead of wasting time on that I could make an actual, real, edible and very delicious creamy onion soup.

Creamy Onion Soup. So good I had to test it three times…

In less time that it took to make the virtual version!

Seriously, six hours to make an online game fake soup??!

I googled creamy onion soup and kept coming up with recipes that called for a can of mushroom soup to be added to a can of chicken soup and a can of celery soup… Seriously?!

So, deciding to make my own soup I came up with this.  Of course, this has been invented a long time ago but someone much better than me, but as I didn’t have a recipe I claim it as mine! 🙂

This is were another confession comes into play… two actually, I guess.

I don’t measure when cooking.

I don’t.  I have too much fun tossing a bit of this and a bit of that and then have to go back in my mind to work it all out.

And the other confession, I don’t listen to my mother.

Creamy Onion Soup

  • 6 tbsps butter
  • 6 tbsps flour
  • 3 cups of milk
  • dash of nutmeg
  • dash of cinnamon
  • dash of salt (or two if you feel like it)
  • several dashes of Italian seasoning
  • chopped garlic (you choose the amount!)
  • 14 small onions sliced thinly
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • water – add enough to cover the onions and then add more to get the consistency you choose
  • 4 or 6 vegetable stock cubes
  • a chunk (yes that is a technical term!) of mozzarella cheese

Make a roue with the 6 tbsps butter, flour and milk.

(This is were I don’t listen to my mother.  She is determined that once you have melted the butter and added the flour and cooked it through you MUST take the pot off the heat to add the milk.  I don’t agree.  I leave my pot on the heat (low) while I add the milk slowly and whisk like crazy.  It is the best way to avoid lumps in my opinion.  But please don’t tell my mother, she is convinced I can’t make jello, so this would just add to her opinion of my cooking.)

Add the seasoning, salt, garlic, nutmeg and cinnamon to the white sauce and allow to simmer for a couple of minutes.

Add diced cheese, stirring constantly to avoid lumps and burning.  Keep this on a low heat throughout!

Set sauce aside.

Melt 1 tbsps butter and add sliced onions.  Cook for a few minutes to get slight browning.

Add water and bring to boil.

Add stock cubes  to the water and onions.  Simmer for five minutes.

Add cheesey sauce to the boiling water and onions, stirring constantly.

Check seasoning and let simmer over a very low heat for approx 45 minutes.

Less than an hour from inception to bowl.  Take that online chef games!! No six hours needed to make a great creamy onion soup in this house!!!

