Arabic Honey Cake

There were several lessons I learnt while making this cake.

Firstly, if a recipe calls for a 10 inch tin then there is a very good reason for that.

I don’t have a 10 inch tin and decided that what was an inch or two between friends and used my nine inch tin.

Yep…

It really needed a 10 inch tin.

While I was pouring the topping over the cake after the first ten minutes was when I learnt this lesson.

It was a bit like trying to pour the contents of a  pint pot into a half pint glass.  Maybe not quite as bad but there was some spillage.

Which cemented my conviction I was right to bring it out of the oven to pour the topping on, despite at first thinking I would just pull the shelf out and pour it on while it was still in the oven.

Which brings me to my second lesson.

Only a complete prat puts a fire/smoke detector right over the oven.

I am not that prat and neither is Allan.  We are the innocent victim’s of said prat’s decision as were my poor Babies who leapt to my aid (I am sure that is what they were thinking of doing as they lay on the bed surrounded by teddy bears) as the automated voice repeated “FIRE! SMOKE!” alternately with a shrill alarm.

But being the resourceful soul I am I fixed the first problem by just setting the tin on a baking sheet so it won’t mess up the oven.

See, not all blondes are dumb ALL the time!

And the second was solved by a smack from my Swiffer.

I think she was insulted as she promptly shut up.

She can stay insulted.

The cake was made about five minutes after I came home from being out in the car with Allan – I have the aim of being able to go out without a melt down by May when we plan to move.

I melted down on this outing even though all I did was sit in the car while Allan went to get some milk.

So, it was kind of appropriate that all the butter needed melted for the recipe.

A trifecta of melt downs.

Literally.

I had originally meant to make this cake way back in October, but seriously… Breathing was enough of a task back then so the fact I made this today despite my melt down really feels like a success.

Which brings me to the next success…

This cake!

It is so good I am sure it is illegal in at least five countries.

Even if it was made in a 9 inch tin instead of a 10 inch.

It isn’t just men who misjudge size it seems. O_O

This is just ooey-gooey and so amazingly rich and sweet that a small piece is enough for most people.  Some might want to eat it all though.

It would go really well with something to cut the sweet richness of the honey sauce which caramelises on the top, bottom and sides and just dribbles through the centre.

The cake is really light, but the sauce makes it very rich.

This is a winner.  If you are reading this, you don’t need to try it, you HAVE to!

Arabic Honey Cake

Arabic Honey Cake

Cake
1/3 cup butter
3 eggs
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 cup flour, all-purpose plus 1 tbl

Topping
1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup sugar
1/3 cup honey
1/2 cup slivered almonds
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Butter a 10″ pan. Preheat the oven to 400F.

Beat the eggs, sugar and vanilla until it whittens. Add the melted butter and mix well.

Sift the flour and BP. and add to the previous mixture, mix gently.

Pour in the prepared pan and bake 10-12 min.

Meanwhile prepare the topping.

Melt the butter on med heat. Add the rest of the ingred. and bring to a boil stirring constantly.

Pour the topping gently on the cake and return it to the oven for another 15-20 min.

Arabic "Oh My Word, This Is So Good!" Honey Cake

I would love to credit the site I got the recipe from… however, it was October when I found it and for some reason I didn’t save the site with the recipe which I usually do.  So, apologies to whoever originally posted and shared this, for not crediting you, and a big “Thank you!” for doing so.

