Slow-Cooker Beef and Rosemary Pasta Sauce

Anyone who knows anything about us knows two basic things (okay four… I adore pancake recipes and Bob and Echo are spoilt.).  I love my slow cooker and Allan would eat pasta three times a day for the rest of his life.

Also, I am fed up with basic tomato sauce with ground beef.  So, anytime I find a new pasta sauce recipe I try it in the hope it will get approval and be repeated rather than schlopping some pasta sauce (yes, he prefers the premade stuff to the sauces I spend hours making for him) into a pot with some ground beef.

This, was also a bonus as I have stewing beef I had no notion of what to do with as the idea of stew seems foreign to my pasta loving Canadian born-half Scottish husband.

I guess playing football for so many Italian teams for so many years had more of an impact than just knowing how to swear fluently in Italian!

Slow Cooker Beef and Rosemary Pasta Sauce

Slow-Cooker Beef and Rosemary Pasta Sauce

  • 1/2lb lb(680 g) beef stewing cubes
  • 1 small onion , chopped
  • 1 tbsp dried rosemary
  • 1 can (28 oz/796 ml) diced tomatoes , with herbs and spices
  • 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar or red wine vinegar
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

Trim fat from beef cubes; cut into 1-inch (2.5 cm) pieces. In Dutch oven, heat 1 tbsp (15 mL) vegetable oil over medium-high heat; brown beef, in batches. Transfer to plate; set aside.

Drain any fat from pan. Add onion, rosemary and 1/2 tsp (2 mL) each salt and pepper; cook over medium-low heat, stirring occasionally, until softened, 4 minutes

Transfer onion mixture to slow-cooker. Pour 1/4 cup (50 mL) water into Dutch oven; bring to boil, stirring and scraping up any brown bits from bottom of pan.

Pour into slow-cooker along with beef, tomatoes and vinegar. Cover and cook on High for 4 to 6 hours or until beef is tender. Serve sprinkled with Parmesan cheese.

Source : Canadian Living Magazine: January 2003

Perfect topped with just a little parmesan...

