Apple Cheddar Oven Pancake

Happy New Year to everyone!

I don’t know what resolutions anyone has made but one of mine is to spend time doing things I love that will help me feel better about myself and hopefully, in time, help me heal.

So, I am BACK!

And, of course, what could I come back with, but a pancake recipe?

I was thinking about it and being low on energy I decided that standing flipping pancakes just wasn’t going to work, but oven pancakes?

Perfection.

And the memory of that great apple grilled cheese sandwich popped into my mind and this is what happened…

Apple Cheese Oven Pancakes

Apple Cheddar Oven Pancakes

• 1 cup all-purpose flour
• 1 cup milk
• 1/4 teaspoon salt
• 4 eggs
• 2 medium unpeeled tart cooking apples, thinly sliced (2 cups)
• 2 tablespoons sugar
• 1/4 cup shredded Cheddar cheese (1 oz)

Heat oven to 450ºF.

Butter a 13×9-inch baking dish with cooking spray.

In medium bowl, beat flour, milk, salt, sugar and eggs with electric whisk until smooth; pour into baking dish.

Slice apples thinly and arrange on top of batter.

Bake 15 to 20 minutes or until puffy and golden brown.

Sprinkle with cheese. Bake about 1 minute longer or until cheese is melted.

Served with some homemade apple sauce and maple syrup...

Of course, it had to be served with maple syrup and I reckoned a spoonful of homemade apple sauce never goes astray…

So good to be back!

