Janet’s Cheesecake

This recipe was given to me by a friend.  I give her instructions below, then I add a little bit of interpretation.

Just one slice...

Thanks for sharing this, Janet.  I always love recipes that friends share with me.

“Cheesecake.

Get some digestive biscuits, put them in a plastic bag and whack with a rolling pin while thinking of your ex. Melt butter in a pan, stir in the crumbs then push into a flan dish, or a loose bottomed baking tin, whatever you have really. Put in fridge to set.

You need a small tin of evaporated milk and a tub of Philadelphia type cheese. Whisk the milk until it thickens then stir in the cream. It’s best to have it at room temp. When it is suitably blended pour onto the set base and chill again.

When it is set add your topping. I like tinned mandarins (the fruit not the Chinese ones), or use tinned fruit pie filling. Blackcurrant is nice because it is tart. Chill again, then eat the whole thing yourself with double cream after you lock Bob in the bathroom and before Allan gets home.”

My interpretation is:

  • 1 1/4 cups graham crumbs
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
  • small can of evaporated milk
  • tub of philadelphia cheese
  • 2 tsp sugar (I felt it was a little too cheesy for Allan)
  • whatever topping you prefer

Mix melted butter with the crumbs.  Press into flan tin and chill to set.

Heat evaporated milk until thick, add in philadelphia cheese and whisk until it melts.

Pour into set crumb base and chill to set.

Top as you choose.

Topped with mixed berries

And it was so good I will definitely be making it again.  Quick, easy and tastes great.  Perfect recipe, Janet! Thanks!

