Naughty but nice Cranberry Sauce

This is uber simple to make and much better than store bought cranberry sauce.

Every Christmas before I left Northern Ireland my middle sister and Mom would have battles over who made the best cranberry sauce.  There were usually five or six variations.  I stayed out of it and stuck to making all the Christmas puddings while Mom also made about a dozen Christmas cakes.

When Allan to visit for Christmas I warned him about the Cranberry Sauce battle and he was able to keep on everyone’s right side by eating lots of all of them.

Since I am not liable to die in the battle of the Cranberry Sauce since moving to Canada I have taken to making a couple of my own variations.  One grown up one and one child friendly one.  This one is the grown up version and my favourite!

 

Rubbish picture but amazing cranberries!

 

 

Grown Up Cranberry Sauce

  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • 2 bags cranberries
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • large splash of Triple Sec (I used a 1/3 of a bottle)

Bring to a gentle boil and simmer until it is slightly moister than you prefer your sauce to be.

Chill and serve.  It will thicken up slightly as it cools.

