Chicken Alfredo

Allan loves pasta, though he much prefers tomato sauces to cream based sauces so I wasn’t expecting him to enjoy it as much as he did.  He raved over and asked that I make it again.  That is a result!

I have used another recipe to make an alfredo which we both enjoyed, but this one is definitely now our favourite, not that the cream or sour cream influenced us…

I did make a couple of changes, due in part to not having some ingredients (that comes of finding a recipe literally five minutes before you decide you must make it immediately!) and then due to not reading the recipe correctly.  I didn’t cube the chicken but left the breasts whole.  It seemed to make no difference to Allan’s enjoyment of it.

It is a definitely winner for us.

Chicken Alfredo

Chicken Alfredo

• 6 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves – cut into cubes

• 6 tablespoons butter, divided

• 4 cloves garlic, minced, divided

• 1 tablespoon Italian seasoning

• 1 pound fettuccini pasta or whatever type you choose

• 1 onion, diced

• 1 (8 ounce) package sliced mushrooms (I skipped these as I am allergic and didn’t want to kill myself!)

• 1/3 cup all-purpose flour

• 1 tablespoon salt

• 3/4 teaspoon ground white pepper

• 3 cups milk (I had no milk… so I used water)

• 1 cup half-and-half (I had no half and half (whatever that is…) so I used cream – it made up for the lack of milk and added a great creaminess.

• 3/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

• 8 ounces shredded Colby-Monterey Jack cheese  (I skipped this as guess what… we didn’t have it)

• 3 roma (plum) tomatoes, diced (I swopped this for grape tomatoes as I had a huge box and wanted to use them up)

• 1/2 cup sour cream

In a large skillet over medium heat combine chicken, 2 tablespoons butter, 2 cloves garlic, and Italian seasoning. Cook until chicken is no longer pink inside. Remove from skillet and set aside.

Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Add pasta and cook for 8 to 10 minutes or until al dente; drain.

Meanwhile, melt 4 tablespoons butter in the skillet. Saute onion, 2 cloves garlic, and mushrooms until onions are transparent. Stir in flour, salt and pepper; cook 2 minutes.

Slowly add milk and half-and-half, stirring until smooth and creamy. Stir in Parmesan and Colby-Monterey Jack cheeses; stir until cheese is melted. Stir in chicken mixture, tomatoes and sour cream.

Serve over cooked fettuccini.

