Pineapple Fool

Pineapple Fool

I haven’t been online much recently. I got sick, which was the reason we had to leave the rez earlier than planned and didn’t have the energy to cook, nevermind post about it.

I used jarred spaghetti sauce on the few occasions I did scrape together a meal, otherwise we ordered in.

It was that bad.

It will be a while before I am back to normal but I am trying to get back into cooking and blogging as I hope it will help me get back to normal.

Allan found us an apartment after only a couple of weeks of living in a hotel which is great.  It doesn’t have a fenced in area for Bob but that doesn’t matter as he wouldn’t go out on his own anyway.  This is the puppy who saw off coyotes and took on a bear and a pack of wild dogs which were killing another dog and the sounds of the city scare the life out of him.

He is getting better and we have started him in course which should help.  My baby is in school!

Our home is starting to look good, and I have only ten more boxes to unpack, which I plan to do as soon as I get the energy for it.  Getting curtains and pictures up on the walls made it feel homely.

On Saturday, in the city where we moved to, there is a Farmer’s Market. Allan took me on Saturday for about fifteen minutes, which was all I could handle, and we ended up with a basket full of amazingly gorgeous fruits and vegetables.  And most of it was farmed within fifty kms.

We got a pineapple for one dollar.

One dollar!!

I hadn’t even seen a real pineapple since moving to the rez and if there had been any they would have been much more than one dollar.

This recipe is light which is perfect for the heat here which is just about killing me. Please tell me it isn’t normal to have temperatures of 75 in the house! Allan says August is going to kill me. I might move into our freezer for four weeks, and take Bob in there with me.

It is also a really easy recipe. Which is about all I can handle right now and was a good way to get back into cooking again.

Fresh Pineapple Fool

There were however a few “issues”.

Firstly I have 20/20 vision, which really upsets my optician who always tells me in a very hopeful tone that next year I will need glasses.  It isn’t looking good for him as he has told me that four years running so far…

However, when I am a bad diabetic and forget to eat I get blurry vision, so when I was reading the recipe I misread 3 for 5. Which meant that I didn’t make the syrup before adding the sugar and pineapple.

O_O

I pulled out the pineapple after about ten minutes and then let the liquid thicken up.

Also, after having my blender in storage for over a year I forgot how it went together.  I remembered that I had forgotten when the juice leaked through the blades…

I didn’t cry.  Honestly!

Finally I got it reassembled properly and got the pineapple into the fridge to chill.

It was worth the effort it took to get the blender sorted out.

This isn’t a Fool in the traditional sense.  It isn’t made with a custard base, but it is quick, easy and light and very more-ish.

Pineapple Fool

(allrecipes.com)

• 2 cups (1-inch) cubed fresh pineapple
• 1/2 cup water
• 1 tablespoon chopped crystallized ginger
• 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
• 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
• 2 cups frozen reduced-calorie whipped topping, thawed

Combine the first 3 ingredients in a medium saucepan, and bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer 10 minutes or until liquid almost evaporates.

Add sugar and lemon juice, and cook over medium-high heat for 8 minutes or until slightly syrupy. Place the pineapple mixture in a blender; process until smooth. Pour the mixture into a bowl; cover and chill.

Reserve 1/4 cup of chilled pineapple mixture.

Fold the whipped topping into the remaining chilled pineapple mixture.

Sweet and Tart - a perfect summer dessert

We got lots of strawberries too, so they are next on my list…

(BTW We have flowers!!!!)

