Cheat’s Jalapeno Poppers

We are moving in a couple of days and being the genius I am I gave most of the groceries and things away already, as I wanted to reduce the stress of everything that still had to be done.

Then I decided I needed some comfort food and happened to have kept the two jalapenos I bought at the weekend when I was out at the doctor’s appointment.

So, using all the bits and bobs of left over things I had kept and the contents of a cupboard I had forgotten about I made these jalapeno poppers.

And that is the reason I am calling these Cheat’s Jalapeno Poppers, as they were literally thrown together with whatever I could lay my hands on and were not made according to any proper recipe or protocol.

Though they are far from authentic they filled my need for comfort food.

Below I describe my method, but it can be made more sensible and I will be using it again.  Though with more care and less packing stress.

Cheat's Jalapeno Poppers

Cheat’s Jalapeno Poppers

  • Two jalapeno peppers – sliced in half and deseeded
  • Cream cheese – whatever is left in the bottom of the carton you didn’t get around to throwing out yet – around 2 tablespoons
  • Shredded mozzarella cheese
  • Cumin – because it was the first spice I could dig out of the box of herbs I am packing
  • milk in a bowl for dipping
  • flour in a bowl for dipping
  • breadcrumbsa
  • oil for cooking

Mix the cream cheese, mozzarella and cumin together.  Take a spoonful and roll into a log shape then press into half of a jalapeno.

Dip the jalapenos in the milk, soaking well then coat well in flour.

Get distracted by something that needs packing and leave to sit for at least ten minutes. (The sitting is necessary, but the distraction just happened.)

Dip the jalapenos in the milk again, and then into the breadcrumbs.  (If you are me you will forget the breadcrumbs and go back into the flour, then after you have cooked the jalapenos look at the breadcrumbs with confusion until you realise your mistake…)

Cook in hot oil for three minutes.

Eat, then get back to packing!

