Mexican Lasagne

Happy Cinco de Mayo!

And Happy Anniversary to my baby sister and her lovely husband.  It amazes me that my baby sister is so grown up with babies of her own now.  I am old.  I am so proud of her and her lovely family.  I know I am biased but she is such a wonderful person, and I got to watch her grow from a tiny baby to a mischievous toddler to an inquisitive child through wild teen years to becoming a wonderful wife and mother.  I love her, in case that wasn’t obvious.

I wanted to make something mexican for this evening’s supper.  Something I could make for both of us.  And this was perfect.

I cut the amounts and made us each a lasagne in a 9 inch cake tin, which was the perfect size for a tortilla.  I used one tortilla for the bottom and one for the top.

Mexican Lasagne

Mexican Lasagne

• 1 pound lean ground beef
• 1 (1 ounce) package taco seasoning mix
• 1 (14 ounce) can peeled and diced tomatoes with juice
• 10 (6 inch) corn tortillas
• 1 cup prepared salsa
• 1/2 cup shredded Colby cheese (I used mozzarella cheese)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).

In a large skillet over medium-high heat, brown the ground beef, and stir in the taco seasoning and tomatoes.

Line a 9×13-inch baking dish with half the tortillas. (I used a 9 inch cake tin and one tortilla)

Spoon the beef mixture into the dish, then top with the remaining tortillas. Spread salsa over the tortillas and sprinkle with the cheese.

Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 20 to 30 minutes, or until cheese is melted and bubbly.

