Broccoli and Tofu in Garlic Sauce

When we moved here we had planned on going out at Christmas, for a break and to pick up some more groceries that we can’t get on rez.  However, when it came to it we changed our minds and stayed here, the only school staff to do so, and enjoyed the solitude.
 
The only problem was that we hadn’t brought a year’s supply of some things, vegetarian proteins being one.  So, until I was out at the weekend I had no tofu or TVP.  I couldn’t get any TVP, but I did get tofu and another soy based protein.  Which was both good news and very exciting!
 
The first thing I made with my newly acquired goodies was this, Broccoli and Tofu in Garlic Sauce.
It was very quick to prepare and cook and was so delicious.  The sauce was a lovely strong garlic flavour with a hint of heat.  I will definitely be making this again!
 
Neither Allan or Bob wanted to try it.  Their loss!
 
Though I do have a confession to make about tofu.  I tried it once about ten years ago and hated it.  Then last year a friend convinced me to buy it and cook it myself and I discovered that it wasn’t the hateful stuff I recalled.  In fact, cooked properly it was darned good.  I was a tofu convert.
 

Broccoli and Tofu in Garlic Sauce

Broccoli and Tofu in Garlic Sauce

• 1 onion, diced
• 4 cloves garlic, minced
• 3 tbsp olive oil
• approx 2 cups broccoli, chopped
• 1 block firm or extra firm tofu, pressed
• 1 1/2 tsp ginger powder
• 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
• 3 tbsp corn starch
• 1/4 cup soy sauce
• 1 cup water

Cut tofu into 1 inch cubes.

in a large skillet, sautee onions and garlic in olive oil until onions turn clear, about 3-5 minutes.

Add the tofu, ginger, cayenne and broccoli to the pan and continue to cook until broccoli is done, another 6-8 minutes.

In a separate small bowl, mix together the corn starch, soy sauce and water, then add this mixture to the broccoli and tofu. Cook until sauce thickens, then remove from heat.

Serve over rice or whole grains and enjoy!

