Onion Tart

I found this recipe in a food community blog I am part of and immediately knew I HAD to make it.

Onions are always so appetising so, as soon as I found it, I decided to try it out this morning.  The smell of onions cooking is one of my favourite scents.  I could have happily eaten the cooked onions straight out of the pan.

But once I pulled the tart from the oven I was so glad I hadn’t. 

Onion Perfection

I made a couple of changes, of course.  Firstly I didn’t have the cheeses called for so I used mozzarella instead.  And then I decided to use my biscuit dough instead of pie dough.

 

Onion Tart

The tart was absolutely wonderful with the biscuit dough, very filling and satisfying.  I think that it would be lighter with the pie dough.  But this?  Perfect.

Onion Tart

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 1/2 pounds onion, sliced
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh thyme
  • 3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/2 (14.1-ounce) pie dough (I used my biscuit dough)
  • 1/4 cup (1 ounce) crumbled reduced-fat feta cheese (I substituted mozzarella cheese)
  • 1/4 cup (1 ounce) shredded reduced-fat Swiss cheese (I substituted mozzarella cheese)
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten

Preheat oven to 425°.

Heat oil in a skillet over medium-high heat. Add onion, thyme, salt, and pepper; cook 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Roll dough out on a parchment paper-lined baking sheet.

Sprinkle feta cheese in center, leaving a 1 1/2-inch border; top with onion.

Sprinkle with Swiss cheese.

Fold piecrust border up and over onion mixture, pleating as you go, leaving a 6-inch-wide opening.

Combine egg and 2 tablespoons water; brush over dough.

Bake at 425° for 25 minutes or until golden. Cool for 10 minutes.

