Tangy Chicken Thighs

I had to fly out yesterday for a doctor’s appointment, and I got back yesterday evening.  It was so very good to be back with Allan, I missed him so much.  Bob was pining for me apparently and wouldn’t let Allan sleep, waking him if he dropped off with a slap of his paw. 
 
Once Allan woke to the feeling of a presence and woke his eyes to find Bob nose to nose with him, looking at him as if to say, “What did you do to my mommy?”.
 
And considering Bob’s preferred method of killing his stuffed toys is through the face Allan felt a slight twinge of anxiety. 🙂
 
When I got to the house Bob was at the window and slapped it repeatedly until we went inside.  Then once he kissed me to death he wanted into my bag as he somehow knew there would be toys for him.  He pounced on each one and all was well in the world.
 
This morning I have to admit the idea of making supper was exhausting, plus I had nothing defrosted.  I honestly thought it was beyond me to plan and prepare a meal, so I turned to my slow cooker.
 
Tangy Slow Cooker Chicken.
 
Simple to prepare and cooks itself while I sleep.
 
Win all round.
 

Fall off the bone tender chicken with tangy tomato sauce

I served it with squished baby potatoes and golden crusted brussel sprouts.  I managed to grab a few things in the store before coming back to the airport, though not much as I was overcome with the choice and was rushed for time.
 
The chicken was definitely very good because I made three thighs, one each for Allan and Bob (yes, I know… spoilt.  And I was careful just to give him the shredded chicken and no sauce.) and one for another time.  Allan said that he thought he could force the other one down.  And he managed admirably, I have to say.
 
I made a couple of changes, I skipped the carrots as Allan really doesn’t like cooked carrots.  I also left off the bacon as I didn’t have any.  I know it would have been a great addition.  After all, isn’t it always?
 

Slow Cooker Tangy Chicken

Tangy Chicken Thighs
• 1 14oz can diced tomatoes, with liquid
• 6 oz can tomato paste
• 1 medium onion, chopped
• 2 cups carrots, diced/sliced
• 1 tbsp dried basil
• 1 tsp dried oregano
• 1/2 tsp dried thyme
• 1/2 tsp rosemary, crumbled
• 2 cloves garlic, crushed
• 1/2 tsp black pepper, freshly ground
• 1/2 cup orange juice, freshly squeezed
• 1 1/2 tsp sugar
• 2 lbs boneless skinless chicken thighs, fat trimmed
• 2 tbsp orange zest, divided
• 2 tbsp lemon juice
• 4 slices bacon, cooked & crumbled

Combine first 12 ingredients & half of orange zest in crock pot. Mix thoroughly.

Nestle chicken thighs in mixture.

Cook on low for 6 hours, until chicken is cooked through.

Stir in lemon juice and remaining orange zest. Sprinkle with bacon & serve.

