Squished Baby Potatoes

When I was trying to figure out what to serve with the Slow Cooker Tangy Chicken I made for supper this evening I knew only one thing.  I would be using the baby white potatoes I had brought back yesterday.  And the brussel sprouts.

And being that we both love roast potatoes and white potatoes make great roast potatoes there really wasn’t much thought required.

This recipe comes courtesy of Laura Calder and is very simple.  And it has a very cute name, as a bonus.

I adapted it slightly by adding garlic powder.   I can’t help it my hand automatically goes for garlic no matter what I am cooking.  Also I preheated the oven while boiling the potatoes.  And I didn’t use two pounds of potatoes.

They ended up so crispy on the outside and soft on the inside.  I regretted not making more.

Next time I plan on adding some onions too… Which is making me want to make them again, right now!

Squished Baby Potatoes

Squished Baby Potatoes

• 2 pounds new potatoes
• Salt and pepper
• Olive oil

Scrub the potatoes and cook, unpeeled, in boiling salted water until tender. Drain.

When cool enough to touch, squish them flat using a coffee cup or ramekin. Don’t let them explode, just flatten until the edges break a bit, but they are still in one piece.

Toss in olive oil and season with salt and pepper.

Heat the oven to 400°F/200°C.

Spread the potatoes on a baking sheet and bake until crisp outside and soft inside, about 40 minutes.

