Swedish Pancakes

Once more, I am making pancakes.  These are more crepes than the traditional North American pancakes.

I am flying out today for an appointment and won’t be back until late tomorrow, so I reckoned that I should make Allan a good breakfast as he will be left fending for himself for a couple of days and with the short notice of my trip I couldn’t freeze meals for him.  Which made me unhappy, as I always like to leave meals ready for him to heat up and eat.  Though I did throw some chicken halves and barbeque sauce into the slow cooker for tonight, so he should be okay. 

Swedish Pancakes… all that’s missing is some fresh fruit

Firstly, never let it be said that a mere recipe can come between me and something I want to make.

So, when the recipe insists on a blender and I don’t have one I figure out how to replace it.  And an immersion blender is the same thing really…
And a 10 inch skillet?  Just a smaller version of my 16 inch one, no big deal.  It worked but it made it slightly more difficult than it needed to be.
 
And when the Swedish recipe creator suggests a scant 1/3 cup is enough batter at once to make a Swedish pancake, why should I listen?
Which reminds me how how a few pancake recipes ago I said that when the cook says the first one “didn’t work” what they mean was that they ate it.   Still true in this case, but it really didn’t work.  I used way too much batter.
A scant 1/3 cup is plenty.  Honestly.
 
Folded Swedish Pancakes with syrup

The recipe suggests the pancakes be served with fresh fruit.  I don’t have any and despite Allan’s magical production of another cauliflower I figured it wouldn’t be a good substitute.  So plain syrup it was.

These are good.  Even the messed up first one.  But the proper ones are better.  Stick to the scant 1/3 cup of batter per pancake, please.

Swedish Pancakes
(Food Network)

• 8 tablespoons unsalted butter
• 1 cup all-purpose flour
• 1 3/4 cups whole milk
• 3 large eggs
• 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
• 1/4 teaspoon salt
• Confectioners’ sugar, maple syrup and fresh fruit, for garnish

Melt 4 tablespoons butter in a 10-inch nonstick skillet. Combine the flour, milk, eggs, melted butter, vanilla and salt in a blender; process until smooth.

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees. Warm the same skillet over medium heat until a drop of water bounces and sizzles. Add 1 teaspoon butter; turn to coat the pan with the melted butter.

Pour in a scant 1/3 cup batter and quickly swirl the pan to evenly coat the bottom.

Cook until the pancake sets, 1 to 1 1/2 minutes. Using a rubber spatula, carefully lift the pancake by the edges and flip; cook until lightly golden on the other side, 15 to 30 seconds.

Transfer to a plate; keep warm in the oven while making the others.

Repeat with the remaining butter and batter to make about 12 pancakes. If the pancakes seem too thick, thin the batter slightly with warm water.

Fold or roll and serve with confectioners’ sugar, syrup and fresh fruit.

Serve folded in quarters.

