Just like loaded Baked Potatoes – Cauliflower

Allan got me another cauliflower.  I think he has a contact somewhere, all I know is that he was at the airport and post office and came back with cauliflower and some other vegetables. 

It really cheered me up as I was having a down in the dumps sort of day, and to see the great things he brought me really made me smile.  It is another reason he deserves to be sainted.  Getting me fresh vegetables in an impossible situation.

I found this recipe and figured it would be a great low carb alternative to potatoes which is what I was craving today, and which aren’t that great for me with my diabetes.

I didn’t mash the cauliflower all that much, just enough to crush the florets. 

Browned and delicious

After being baked I put it under the grill to brown up, it looked great and tasted just as good.  It wasn’t potato, but it was a really good substitute which I will definitely use again when I am craving a plateful of carbs!

And with the onion, sour cream, cheese and scallion it was a really filling, satisfying meal.

Cauliflower faux loaded potatoes

I adapted it very slightly, by adding some diced onion, substituting mozzarella for the cheddar and browning it under the grill after baking.  I also omitted the suggested bacon to make it vegetarian.

Just like loaded baked potatoes – cauliflower

(http://www.food.com/recipe/just-like-loaded-baked-potatoes-cauliflower-low-carb-95068)

  • 2 1/2 cups cooked cauliflower
  • 1 cup sour cream (low fat works here, too)
  • 3/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese (full-fat works best) (I used mozzarella)
  • 3 green onions, finely chopped
  • salt and pepper

Pre-heat oven to 350.

Chop cooked cauliflower into very small pieces.

Mix sour cream, 1/2 of the green onions, 1/2 of the cheese and salt and pepper to taste in medium bowl.

Stir in the cauliflower.

Place in medium baking dish and sprinkle remaining cheese on top.

Bake for 20 minutes.

Sprinkle the remaining green onions on top just before serving.

