Slow Cooker Raspberry Bread Pudding

When I first moved to Canada I knew that there would be a lot of differences.  I knew that a lot of the things I took for granted would be different and maybe even non-existent.

But whipping cream?

Admittedly, we were living in a fly in rez, which meant that there was only one store, which didn’t have a wide variety of stock and was limited as to what it could stock due to having to fly everything in, as some things don’t deal well with being flown/frozen.

Allan and I were going to another teacher’s house and I wanted to make banoffi, for which I needed whipping cream.  At the store I discovered that there was no whipping cream, and with my accent being difficult for people to understand and Allan having lived on peanut butter sandwiches for a few years (O_O) before we married, noone could understand what I was looking for.

Then one of the nurses suggested little tins of “heavy cream”.  It wasn’t what I needed but I bought some. 

Cool Whip then came into my life.  Oh, how much I look forward to not using it again.  I really do prefer butter and real cream to margarine and oil based faux cream.

Last evening Allan and I were talking about everything we need to do before we leave here in just over two months to relocate to Southern Ontario, where we plan on settling.  Allan is taking on the contacting of realtors and finding temporary accomodation, and I am looking after all the packing and sorting out of what we are leaving.

I decided to go through the cupboards and freezer this morning to figure out what we have and how to use it all up over the next eight and a half weeks.  I discovered two cans of the heavy cream, and this recipe came to mind.

Slow Cooker Berry Bread Pudding

As always there are some changes.

Stale French Bread translated into brown sliced pan loaf. And being a rebel I left the crusts on! 🙂

Fresh raspberries just made me sigh longingly and were replaced with mixed frozen berries.

I also used 2% milk instead of whole milk.

Also, my blondeness came out and I forgot the vanilla… O_O

This was absolutely delicious and I am looking forward to trying it with fresh raspberries.

Slow Cooker Raspberry Bread Pudding

• 5 to 6 cups coarsely crumbled or diced stale French bread, or rich white bread, crusts removed
• 1/2 pint container fresh raspberries
• 2 cups heavy cream
• 2 cups whole milk
• 1-1/4 cups sugar
• 6 large eggs
• 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
• Whipped cream for serving (as if!)

Coat the slow cooker with butter-flavor nonstick cooking spray.

Layer half of the crumbled bread in the slow cooker, and sprinkle with half of the berries. Repeat the layers, ending with the berries on top.

In a large bowl, whisk together the cream, milk, sugar, eggs, and vanilla until smooth.

Pour into the cooker over the bread cubes and berries, and gently push down the bread to evenly moisten.

Cover and cook on HIGH until puffed and a knife inserted in the center comes out clean, about 2-1/2 hours. An instant-read thermometer inserted in the center should register 190 degrees F.

Remove the lid and cook on HIGH for another 15 minutes.

Cover, turn off the cooker, and let the pudding stand to cool slightly. Serve warm or at room temperature, with whipped cream, if desired.

Yield – 6 to 8 servings

