Marcella Hazan’s Tomato Sauce

Recently I mentioned that tomato sauce for pasta is something I have to be in the mood for and it was suggested to me that I try this sauce.

Three ingredients to make a great pasta sauce?

I had to try it.

And I couldn’t wait for the meal to taste it.  Heck, I couldn’t even wait until it was fully cooked!

And it totally shocked me.  It tasted great.

Three ingredients and it was truly a great sauce.

(And I kept the onion and ate it with some salt. Yum!)

Three ingredient tomato sauce

Marcella Hazan’s Tomato Sauce: 3 ingredients

  • 1 whole onion
  • One 28-ounce can of whole, peeled tomatoes
  • 5 tablespoons of salted butter

Place the butter, onion and tomatoes (roughly chop the tomatoes first) into a pot and simmer uncovered for 45 minutes.

Until droplets of fat float freely from the tomato.

Remove the onion and discard. (It can be enjoyed with a little salt and pepper)

Serve over pasta cooked in salted water.

