Vegetable Uglies

When I first made my favourite buttermilk biscuit recipe I had some dough left over and used it to make Apple Uglies which we both really loved.  They were called “Uglies” as they were not very pretty, however I think they are cute as well as delicious.

It was also suggested that leftover biscuit dough could be used to make savoury uglies.  And at the weekend when I made biscuits I purposely made extra dough to make tonight’s supper.

I made a fairly thick cheese sauce from a simple roux and added some frozen vegetables just to heat them through then put the mixture into the centre of a circle of the biscuit dough, rolled out thinly.

Then I baked it for about 15 minutes at 375 degrees until it was starting to brown on a buttered cookie sheet.

Vegetable Ugly

I think that most people have their own tried and true method for making cheese sauce, but just in case anyone is curious this is how I make mine.

Melt 2 tablespoons of butter in a pan over a low heat. 

Add 2 tablespoons of flour, mixing constantly with a balloon whisk.

Allow to bubble slightly and cook for about one to two minutes to cook out the raw flour flavour, whisking constantly.

Slowly add 1/2 cup of milk and whisk until combined.

Add another 1 1/2 cups of milk gradually, whisking constantly as the sauce thickens from the bottom.

Season with salt, pepper, nutmeg and anything else you might want.

Add grated cheese and whisk constantly until smooth.

To make a lighter sauce you can add 1 cup milk and 1 cup of stock or any other proportion that suits your needs.

