Grilled Cheese, Onion, Red Pepper and Spinach Sandwich

Do you remember the first thing you ever ate in a restaurant, paid for with your own money and felt grown up eating?

I do.

It was lunch in a bistro in Belfast, which has long since gone.  And it was cheese and scallion soup with an open sandwich of spinach, red onion, red pepper and cheese.

I might have had that same lunch a few times.  It was so good.

And, now I am aware that April is Grilled Cheese Month, I decided to make that open sandwich into a grilled cheese.

Which I am able to do as somehow my wonderful husband managed to come home one morning with several bags which contained five onions, six mixed peppers, a cauliflower, potatoes, a bag of spinach, three heads of romaine, six tomatoes, a head of broccoli, pears, apples, oranges and bananas.

I was a bit excited!  It was the best Easter present ever.

Grilled cheese, spinach, onion and red pepper sandwich

Ingredients for one huge sandwich

  • Handful grated mozzarella cheese
  • Sliced quarter onion
  • Sliced “cheek” of red pepper
  • Large handful of baby spinach leaves
  • Two slices bread
  • Butter

Saute the onion and pepper until the onion starts to brown. 

Add the spinach until wilted.

Make sandwich with the cheese and spinach mix.

