Naan Bread

I love Naan Bread.  Especially garlic naan.  Which explains why there were 12 pieces of naan made but only 9 left to take pictures of by the time they were all cooked…

Fresh Naan Bread

I ate three.

While I was cooking them.

What can I say?  I HAD to test the first one.   Then I thought I better check the quality midway and then one got  a little dark so I had to destroy the evidence.

See?  It wasn’t my choice or fault.  I am innocent.  And full of naan bread. 

This bread is really easy.  It is a great introduction to bread making for anyone who is a bit worried about yeast bread.  And it tastes amazing!

Naan bread dough ready to roll

I browned the butter to cook the naan as it adds a great extra level of flavour.

Naan bread cooking

Naan Bread
(allrecipes.com)
• 1 (.25 ounce) package active dry yeast
• 1 cup warm water
• 1/4 cup white sugar
• 3 tablespoons milk
• 1 egg, beaten
• 2 teaspoons salt
• 4 1/2 cups bread flour
• 2 teaspoons minced garlic (optional)
• 1/4 cup butter, melted

In a large bowl, dissolve yeast in warm water. Let stand about 10 minutes, until frothy.

Stir in sugar, milk, egg, salt, and enough flour to make a soft dough.

Knead for 6 to 8 minutes on a lightly floured surface, or until smooth.

Place dough in a well oiled bowl, cover with a damp cloth, and set aside to rise. Let it rise 1 hour, until the dough has doubled in volume.

Punch down dough, and knead in garlic.

Pinch off small handfuls of dough about the size of a golf ball. Roll into balls, and place on a tray. Cover with a towel, and allow to rise until doubled in size, about 30 minutes.

During the second rising, preheat grill to high heat.

At grill side, roll one ball of dough out into a thin circle. Lightly oil grill.

Place dough on grill, and cook for 2 to 3 minutes, or until puffy and lightly browned. Brush uncooked side with butter, and turn over.

Brush cooked side with butter, and cook until browned, another 2 to 4 minutes. Remove from grill, and continue the process until all the naan has been prepared.

Hot Naan Bread fresh from the pan

