Curried Eggs – The Boston Cooking-School Cook Book (1896)

This is a recipe I found on vintagerecipes.net.  And it intrigued me as when I first became vegetarian it was hard eating out.  But it seems, from this recipe, that vegetarianism isn’t as new as I thought…

Curried Eggs

Plus, it was such a simple recipe I had to try it just to taste it. 

The sauce, I discovered, is a very mild, creamy curry sauce.  I would have preferred it to have some tomato in it, but it was really fun to make a recipe from 1896.

I served it with Naan bread.  https://happydomesticity.wordpress.com/2011/04/19/naan-bread/

Curried Eggs with Naan Bread

Curried Eggs

  • 3 hard boiled eggs
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon curry powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 cup hot milk

Melt butter, add flour and seasonings, and gradually hot milk. Cut eggs in eighths lengthwise, and re-heat in sauce.

Source – The Boston Cooking-School Cook Book (1896)

