Chicken Pieces in Simple Tomato Sauce

I had a bad afternoon yesterday. I am diabetic and my blood sugars crashed and I ended up not able to do anything all evening.

It was all my own fault, I didn’t eat anything all morning as I was feeling sick. Then I spent the afternoon with my class of 24 four year olds which is always high energy.

Thankfully I usually prepare supper in the morning so all that needed to be done was cook the pasta and heat up the sauce.

The problem is today. The day after I crash (which is very rare) I feel hungover and not able to do too much as my coordination is a bit off. So, I needed something simple for supper tonight. When do I not need something simple for supper?

These chicken wings were perfect. Not much prep and very easy to prepare. Thankfully I always have a stash of preprepared tomato sauce in the freezer, so all I had to do was add the other ingredients, which took all of about three minutes.

Simple Tomato Chicken Pieces with Naan Bread

I served it with Naan bread, which is really easy to make and kneading it is a good way of letting go of everything rushing around in my head.

https://happydomesticity.wordpress.com/2011/04/19/naan-bread/

The sauce is Italian in origin, the bread Indian.  I pointed out to Allan that fusion food is good, and that they both start with an I and end with an N so are perfect together really.

Also, I want to point out that despite the amount of sweet things I bake I eat very little, if any, of it.  So, I am not irresponsible about my diabetes.  I am very sensible and know what I can and can’t have.  The Texas Sheet cake I made at the weekend was for Allan, I ate literally a piece the size of my thumb, the rest was made into mini layer cakes for Allan and into cake balls, which I froze for Easter, next weekend.

Chicken in Simple Tomato Sauce

Simple Tomato Chicken Pieces

(http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Dont-Chicken-Out/Detail.aspx)

• 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
• 2 pounds chicken legs (I used wings)
• 4 cups tomato sauce
• 1 clove garlic, minced
• 1 onion, chopped
• 2 bay leaves
• 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
• 1 teaspoon dried oregano
• 1 tablespoon vinegar

Heat the oil in a skillet over medium heat; cook the chicken in the hot oil until lightly browned on all sides.

Whisk the tomato sauce, garlic, onion, bay leaves, cumin, oregano, and vinegar in a bowl; pour over the chicken.

Bring the mixture to a simmer and continue cooking until the chicken is no longer pink at the bone and the juices run clear, about 30 minutes.

An instant-read thermometer inserted near the bone should read 165 degrees F (74 degrees C).

