Hot Fudge Sauce

Last night Allan wanted ice cream while we watched a movie.   And because he had to take Bob outside for a walk in the cold I thought it would be good to make some hot fudge sauce for his ice cream.

It takes as long to make the sauce as it does for Allan to decide that Bob has had enough time outside to play with a stick in the snow when it is dark and cold.

Just minutes.

Bob found a stick he played with last summer in a melting snow bank.  It is shaped like Sherlock Holmes’ pipe and totally delighted Bob who was out tossing it around and throwing it into the air as many times as he could manage to convince us today.  The thing I find fascinating about the stick is that it was a rough stick before it was buried in the snow for several months and now it has emerged smooth, just like driftwood.

The thing I find fascinating about this sauce was when I asked Allan if he wanted hot fudge sauce he asked if we had any, I replied that we didn’t but I was going to make it.  He was pleased and told me I am very clever.

Hot fudge sauce on ice cream

Fudge Sauce Recipe

(http://www.cookingnook.com/hot-fudge-sauce.html)

  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Combine the cocoa, sugar and cornstarch in a saucepan.

Gradually add water and stir until it is smooth. Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly until mixture comes to a full boil and thickens.

Remove from the heat and add vanilla. Stir to incorporate.

Serve warm.

Makes 1 cup.

