Cola Chicken

We had the day off today, and somehow managed to spend the day doing absolutely nothing. 

Perfect!

Well not quite nothing, I did the laundry and cleaned out some drawers and sorted out kitchen cupboards, gave Bob a really good brush (he gets brushed everyday, but today he got a full half hour) and fielded lots of people calling and coming to the house to see Allan.

But apart from that it was a blissful day of nothingness.

When it came to making supper I wanted something simple.  I always want something simple…

Cola Chicken

And what could be simpler than a breast of chicken with some oven fries?  I have had this recipe for Cola Chicken for the longest time and just never got around to trying it.  Until this evening.

The sauce is good with fries.  It is a great tangy ketchup and I plan, now, to make it as a sauce over the summer when we barbeque.

Even though I was only cooking one chicken breast I didn’t reduce the amounts for the sauce, as I wanted to have lots of it.

Cola Chicken
• 3 chicken breasts
• 1 can (12 oz) diet cola
• 1 cup ketchup

Put chicken in a non-stick skillet.

Pour ketchup and diet cola over the top.

Bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat cook for 45 minutes.

Uncover, turn up the heat and continue to cook until the sauce becomes thick and adheres to the chicken.

Be sure to watch it during this last step as it can thicken very quickly.

Tangy cola sauce

