Fruit Salad

Fruit Salad is such a simple dessert to prepare.

Fruit Salad

The quality of the fruit determines the quality of the finished product. Any fruit can be used, just bearing in mind that banana will brown unless covered in lemon or orange juice, so can be added at the last moment.

My mom used to make it and add a sprinkling of sugar to pull out the natural juices.

I make it slightly differently, as I use a simple syrup that Jamie Oliver suggested.

The syrup is very easy to make.Ā  A ladle of water and a ladle of sugar are heated until the sugar dissolves, then a dash each of vanilla extract and lemon juice are added.Ā  Allow the syrup to cool before pouring over the chopped fruit.

In previous times I would have had a fruit salad constantly in the fridge, full of the usual suspects of apples, oranges, grapes, pears, melons, kiwi, mango, strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, along with any more exotic fruit I could get… oh, just the thought of it is making my mouth water!

But, here, where we cannot get those fruits it is rare that I make a fruit salad.Ā  But this week I got four oranges, six apples and five bananas.

Party time!

I won’t share the cost, partially because it would scare me, but also Allan might read this…

Let’s just say that an apple costs $1.50 and a banana $1.75 at the last check.

This fruit salad despite being very ordinary in the fruit it is comprised of, may be amongst the most expensive fruit salads ever created.

Allan loves fruit salad, though, so it is worth it.

Simple Syrup

  • 1 ladle water
  • 1 ladle sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tsp lemon juice

Heat water and sugar until sugar is dissolved.

Stir in vanilla and lemon juice.

Allow to cool.

