Bran Flake Pancakes

In my continuing quest to use up the contents of the hugest box of Raisin Bran ever created I came across this recipe.

For pancakes!

Bran Flakes Pancakes

How happy did that make me?  Two of my current obsession combined in one breakfast!

Perfect.

This is far from a typical pancake batter.  It is thick and when the tablespoon of batter is put into the pan it needs help to shape into a circle.  I didn’t end up with perfect circles.  But the taste wasn’t affected by the shape.

Also, I added more milk than the recipe called for.  It was just too thick with just the suggested amount.  I added around another 1/2 cup.  I didn’t measure, just poured in a good splash.  It was still very thick but much more manageable.

They don’t cook the way pancakes usually do.  There are no bubbles indicating when it is time to flip them.  They need between one and two minutes per side to brown.

When cooked you honestly couldn’t tell that there were Raisin Bran Flakes in the pancakes.  The raisins were apparent but not the bran flakes.   The pancakes were much denser than the usual pancake, but tasted great and I am definitely going to make these again.

They are not as sweet as some pancakes and despite being small, three is a very good sized portion.

I served them with frozen berries, heated through in some maple syrup.

I have that huge box of the flakes to get through! 🙂

Bran Flake Pancakes
Makes 8 (at least – I got 10)

  • 150g/ 1 ¼ cup self raising flour
  • 1 medium egg
  • 2 tbsp clear honey
  • 150ml/ ¾ cup semi skimmed milk
  • 1 cup raisin bran flakes

Place the flour in a large bowl and whisk in the egg. Gradually add the honey and then milk and whisk to form a batter.

Stir in the sultanas and bran flakes.

Heat a little oil in a frying pan and spoon 4 tablespoons of the mixture into the pan. Cook gently for 1-2 minutes, turn over and cook for 1 minute until golden. Repeat to make 4 more pancakes.

Serve drizzled with honey and a scattering of fresh fruit.

