Vegetarian Tortilla Soup

It is the middle of April, yet this morning when I took Bob out at 6am it was not only snowing, but foggy.  O_O

Soup was called for!

As soon as Allan left for work I ransacked the fridge and came up with a very sorry looking green pepper and a couple of onions.

They made me think of this soup.  

Vegetarian Tortilla Soup. 🙂

Vegetarian Tortilla Soup, topped with grated cheese and tortilla chips.

Plus it is a bit spicy which is perfect for a cold, snowy, foggy day in the middle of April.

April!

Ack! 

It had started to thaw last week, most of the snow is off the roof and there are patches of grass showing through the snow and even patches of mud where the grader had scraped the snow away.

Soup is always good.  My mom was such a great soup maker.  She made what was called “Homemade Vegetable Soup” regularly, a tradition I carried on when I left home.  But that all stopped when I moved to Canada as we couldn’t get the vegetables.

This summer there is going to be a huge spike in vegetable and fruit farmers’ profits in Ontario!  We have both decided to eat lots of vegetables and fruit once we get there.  It is going to be so good!

Of course I had to adapt slightly.  I don’t have access to fresh garlic but garlic powder is an okay substitute.  I had only whole tinned tomatoes so I used a pair of kitchen scissors to chop them up a bit.  Ingenuity, I have it! 🙂

I didn’t have a can of jalapenos, but I did have about a quarter of a jar of them, so they went in and I tested it for heat, before adding a dash of dried chilli peppers.

My mantra about chilli pepper is “Hot good, hotter better!”

It was really hard waiting for it to cook.  It just smelt so darned good!

Vegetarian Tortilla Soup

• 2 tablespoons Vegetable Oil
• 1 diced white onion
• 1 diced green pepper
• 2 cloves Garlic, minced
• 3 tablespoons Ground Cumin
• 1 (28 ounces) can Crushed Tomatoes
• 3 (4 ounces) cans chopped Green Chile Peppers, drained
• 4 (14 ounces) cans Vegetable Broth or 8 cups vegetable stock
• Salt and Pepper, to taste
• 1 (11 ounces) can Whole Kernel Corn
• 12 ounces Tortilla Chips
• 1 cup shredded Cheddar Cheese
• 1 Avocado, peeled, pitted and diced

Add oil to stockpot. Heat over medium heat.

 Add in the stir-fry mix, minced garlic, and ground cumin. Sauté 5 minutes, until vegetables are tender.

Saute the onions and peppers.

Stir in the crushed tomatoes, and chile peppers.
4. Stir in vegetable broth. Season with salt and pepper.
5. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat. Simmer 30 minutes.
6. Stir in whole kernel corn. Simmer 5 minutes.
7. Ladle soup into bowls, garnish with tortilla chips, shredded cheese and diced avocado.

