Alton Brown’s Perfect French Fries

I haven’t made “real” fries since coming to Canada over three years ago.  And before that it must have been a year at least since I made them, and then it was the very odd time.  Oven fries were my go to when I made fries, mainly for health reasons.

But there is something special about a “real” fried fry.  It is just so much better tasting.  And after making the fried chicken I took a notion for “real” fries I just couldn’t shake. So, I decided to just make them and get it over with.

Oh, they were good.

And they brought me to a realisation.

When you are tiny your parents know everything, then you grow into a teenager and they know nothing, then you grow some more and get a job and realise they really do know everything after all.

I know my Mom is a great cook, I have always known it.  But it was only when I read this recipe from Alton Brown for the “Perfect French Fries” that I realised that my Mom really, really does know everything.

Perfect fries that prove my Mom knows everything!

This is exactly how she has made fries since ever I remember.

She would cut them and soak them in cold water, then blanche them and then finally finish cooking them until they were perfectly crispy and very more-ish.

I remember the casserole dish she always used to put them into after blanching and finishing before serving them.  It was a white round casserole dish with little white handles and a blue pattern around the middle.  It’s funny the things you remember from childhood, really.

Alton Brown obviously watched my Mom and took her recipe.  He left the skin on and added the kosher salt to make it his own.

My Mom does indeed know everything!

Alton Brown’s Chips
• 1 gallon safflower oil
• 4 large Russet potatoes
• Kosher salt

Heat oven to 200 degrees F.

Heat the safflower oil in a 5-quart Dutch oven over high heat until it reaches 320 degrees.

Using a V-slicer with a wide blade, slice the potatoes with the skin on.

Place in a large bowl with cold water.

Drain potatoes thoroughly, removing any excess water. When oil reaches 320 degrees, submerge the potatoes in the oil. Working in small batches, fry for 2 to 3 minutes until they are pale and floppy. Remove from oil, drain, and cool to room temperature.

Blanched until they are pale and floppy.

Increase the temperature of the oil to 375 degrees. Re-immerse fries and cook until crisp and golden brown, about 2 to 3 minutes. Remove and drain on roasting rack. Season with kosher salt while hot and hold in the oven.

Perfectly browned and crispy fries.

