Oven Pancakes

I found this recipe in a random search for pancakes recipes.  I came across the “Starved Writer” Blog and found this little gem.  Because a dozen pancake recipes just isn’t enough…

And they sound so easy.  Too easy, in fact.

I had to try them for a lazy weekend breakfast.  I decided to saute some banana and apple slices to serve with the pancakes.

 Though can you call it a pancake if it is oven baked?

I was a bit worried as I made them that they wouldn’t rise.  I was tempted to adapt, but figured that I would make them as suggested the first time, and see how they turned out.

WOW!

Great looking puffy oven pancakes.

They rose!

In some ways I would compare these to a yorkshire pudding, but not quite…

They were good and I am going to use this recipe again, on mornings when we want pancakes but I don’t want to stand over the stove cooking them. 

Oven pancake with sauteed bananas and apples.

Like this morning, when I was more interested in watching Berbatov score against Fulham!! 🙂

Oven Pancakes

  • 1/4 cup of butter
  • 6 eggs
  • 1 cup of milk
  • 1 cup of flour
  • 1/2 tsp of salt

Heat oven to 425°C.

Melt butter into a 9″ by 13″ baking dish.

Beat eggs and milk together.

Mix flour and salt together.

Slowly beat flour mixture into egg mixture.

Pour mixture into baking dish.

Bake for 25 minutes.

The best part about oven pancakes is that they are like blank canvases: You can add whatever you want!

I got this recipe from The Starved Writer Blog. Thank you!

http://starvedwriter.wordpress.com/2011/03/18/paulas-perfect-oven-pancakes

Oven pancake.

