Mom’s Coconut Cookies

For someone who declares that they don’t like coconut I am using a lot of it recently!  I credit that to A Boleyn and her magical coconut pie, https://happydomesticity.wordpress.com/2011/03/27/magic-coconut-pie/

She says that tastes change and is sure that is the reason, but I believe in faeries so I believe in her magic pie too. 🙂

These cookies are ones my mom used to make when I was a child.  I loved them because the coconut was secret and they were called “cookies” which was so exotic to us.

This morning I actually made THREE batches of these cookies.  Because I messed up the first two batches.  I put way too much baking powder in the first time.  They spread out paperthin, I tried to salvage them, but none made it. 

The second batch I used 1/4 teaspoon of baking powder, which was right, but they still spread a little.  And they were way too sweet.  Then I realised that I had used half of the flour I should have. O_O

Third time lucky.  I am nothing if not detemined…

Note to self: don’t make cookies an hour after waking up from horrible nightmares.  It distracts you…

These are very crumbly, buttery cookies.  I am thinking of cutting the butter slightly next time.

Mom’s Cookies

• 4 ounces butter
• 4 ounces sugar
• 4 ounces coconut
• 4 ounces SR flour (I use AP and add some baking powder)

Cream butter and sugar.

Fold in coconut and flour.

Roll into walnut sized balls.

Flatten slightly with fork and top with ¼ cherry if desired.

Bake in a preheated oven at 350 degree for approx 8 to 10 minutes.

Let cool on cookie sheet for five minutes before moving to cooling rack.

