Chip and Dip Chicken

We needed a quick supper tonight.  Allan had a meeting so needed to go out early.  This is a quick chicken recipe, supposedly for the BBQ, but I figured it would work just as well in the oven.

Plus it would go well with the left over scalloped potatoes.  Which makes for a fast, easy meal.

It was fun bashing the heck out of the chips.  I didn’t take them too small as I wasn’t sure how crushed they needed to be, and it turned out to be good that way.

I was only making one breast, the recipe below is for six.  Also, it is suggested to cook on a BBQ and I was oven baking.

Of course, it seemed to take forever in the oven, but that was just because we were in a rush.  I cooked the chicken breast in foil at 350 degrees for fifteen minutes and finished it off with the foil open.

Being in a rush, I took one quick photograph, which is totally out of focus…

Chip and Dip Chicken

Allan said that he knew it was onion-y but had no idea it was chips and dip until I told him.  He thought it was a crunchy bread coating.  He said it was like crispy chicken.

Success! 🙂

Chip ‘N Dip Chicken

  • 6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 8 oz. carton onion dip
  • 1 1/2 cups crushed potato chips
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Sprinkle each chicken piece with salt and pepper.

Spread onion dip over each piece (both sides). Roll in crushed chips.

Place two pieces each on 12×18 inch piece of foil and wrap securely.

Place on a wire rack two or three inches above charcoal coals.

Cook for 20 minutes on each side.

As I said above, I oven baked the breast rather than putting it over coals.  It worked out perfectly.

