Scalloped Potatoes

Allan loves scalloped potatoes.  I love potatoes.  This is always a win for both of us.

It is a plain recipe, which allows you to play around with the flavours.  I added garlic to this, sometimes I add cheese.  Sometimes I add thinly sliced onions.  I just add whatever I feel like into this.  And it is always good.

Scalloped potatoes with home fried chicken.

Tonight I served it with fried chicken.  (Yes, I made fried chicken, how brilliant am I?!)

Scalloped Potatoes
• 6 medium potatoes, peeled and thinly sliced
• 4 tablespoons butter
• 3 tablespoons flour
• 1 teaspoon salt
• 1/4 teaspoon pepper
• 2 1/2 cups milk
• 1 small onion, finely chopped

Preheat oven to 350ºF.

Heat 3 tablespoons of butter in a saucepan over low heat until melted.

Blend in flour, salt and pepper. Cook over low heat, stirring constantly, until mixture is smooth and bubbly.

Gradually stir in milk, 1/2 cup at a time. Heat to boiling. Boil and stir 1 minute.

Arrange potatoes in greased 2 quart casserole in 3 layers, topping each layer with part of the chopped onions and 1/3 of the sauce. Dot the top with the remaining 1 tablespoon of butter, broken into little pieces.

Cover and bake until potatoes are tender, about 60-70 minutes.

Let stand 5 to 10 minute before serving.
Serves 6

Scalloped potatoes.

