Country Chicken

I have never made fried chicken before, I always oven bake it, but I wanted to try frying it at least once.  This was my first attempt.  It won’t be my last…

Lightly spiced country chicken

I get such a feeling of pride every time I roast a bird or roast.  I have no idea why, considering I don’t eat it, other than it is some primal feeling of pride at providing a good meal for my husband. 

It’s funny when I roast a joint or chicken or turkey.  Poor Allan has to admire it at least twenty times while I grin broadly and feel like a real wife.

I guess in my head love is demonstrated by food.  I just want to cook and bake the best I can, to make Allan happy and to show him how much I love him by the effort and thought I have put into the food.

Fried chicken is so North American to me.  It isn’t something that my Mom would ever have made.  Or if she did, I don’t remember it.  I do remember that she was a great cook and I remember that we would have “fancy” things like curry and sweet and sour when a lot of my friends didn’t. 

In fact, Mom tells me that as a toddler sitting in my high chair I would eat curry like it was going out of fashion.  Which may account for my love of spicy food.

Standing tonight making this fried chicken I wished I had an apron.  Yep, it really did.  I am going to ask Allan if I can look for some online so I can look the part next time!

Allan said that the chicken was “fall off” the bone tender, and that the coating was lightly spiced.  He also said that he wants me to make it again.  I need to get that apron. 🙂

Joking aside though, making this chicken is definitely up there in the “I is a real wife!” stakes with the roast birds and joints.  I was so proud of it that Allan got to the stage where he was teasing me about how often I asked if he liked it.  I was also so proud I that I might actually burst.

And that would be messy…

But, seriously, I MADE THIS!!

Country Fried Chicken

Country Chicken
Ingredients
• 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
• 1 teaspoon garlic salt
• 1 teaspoon pepper
• 1/2 teaspoon paprika
• 1/4 teaspoon poultry seasoning
• 1 egg, beaten
• 1/4 cup 2% milk
• 2 chicken thighs
• 2 chicken drumsticks
• canola oil

In a large resealable plastic bag, combine the first five ingredients.

In a shallow bowl, beat the egg and milk.

Add chicken to bag, a few pieces at a time, and shake to coat.

Dip into egg mixture, then return to flour mixture and shake again.

Remove from bag and let stand for 5 minutes.

Heat about 1 in. of oil in a large skillet.

Fry chicken until golden brown on all sides.

Reduce heat to medium and cook until a meat thermometer reads 180°, about 15 minutes.

Country Fried Chicken with scalloped potatoes and peas

