Pineapple Upside Down Cake

This morning is the first day back to school after Spring Break.  We reckon somehow the week got squashed… It flew by and not all the things we had planned got done.

I blame it on not having hot water.  I seem to spend most of my day boiling water for dishes and washing and cleaning and other things.

It was a bit like the old joke in our house this morning…

“A woman wakes her son and says, “Come on dear, it’s time to get ready for school.”.  The son rolls over and mumbles, “I don’t wanna go…”.  The mom says, “Come on!  Get up!”.  The son says, “But the kids don’t like me, the teachers don’t like me, I don’t wanna go!”.  The Mom pulls the duvet off the bed and declares, “You have to go! You’re the Principal!”.”

It isn’t the case that noone likes Allan in school at all, if it were we wouldn’t have had the constant parade of kids coming to the house all break looking to come in and visit.

But we don’t wanna go…

And Bob sure didn’t want us to go either.  I tried to strip the bedclothes to change the sheets.  But Bob, all 120lbs of him, decided it was a bad thing.  So he refused to move.  I joked to Allan we had bedbugs, and realised it wasn’t a great time to make jokes as he was so preoccupied he thought we really did have bedbugs and was startled. 

I pointed to Bob and he realised it was a joke, albeit a really bad one…

We have a BED BUG!!!

So, feeling as though I regressed to childhood this morning I figured it was a great time to go retro in the kitchen, as well.

And what is more retro than Pineapple Upside Down Cake? 

Yummy Retro Pineapple Upside Down Cake

This got me thinking about a few retro things that I need to make again soon…

We didn’t have pineapple rings, so I had two choices.  I could fling the pineapple bits randomly into the cake tin, or spend ten minutes carefully placing the little bits in a pattern.  I chose the pattern.

Proof of the pattern, that didn't completely make it when the cake was turned out...

I have issues with mess.  I do the dishes as I go when I cook or bake.  I can’t settle to eat supper until most of the dishes are done, and if I had just chucked the pineapple bits into the cake tin I would have regretted it.

It didn’t quite make it when it was turned out, but in the main it was pretty.

Sad sack…

I changed the recipe only slightly, by melting the butter to cream with the sugar.  I like the way it tastes better.  And despite the true retro Pineapple Upside Down Cake having glace cherries in the centre of each pineapple ring I skipped them entirely as it saves me having to pick them out later when I am eating a slice.

Glace cherries… yuck!

Lightly spiced cake with sweet pineapple topping

I had forgotten that the cake was lightly spiced.  It really has been a long time since I tasted this cake.  Also, my cake rose over the top of the tin so when turned out it had a nice cake edge around the centre sweetness.

Pineapple Upside Down Cake

• 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
• 2/3 cup packed brown sugar
• 1 tin pineapple rings

• 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
• 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
• 1/2 teaspoon salt
• 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
• 1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
• 2/3 cup white sugar
• 2 eggs
• 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
• 3/4 cup milk

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).

In a small bowl stir together the melted butter and the brown sugar; spread the mixture evenly in a well buttered 9 inch round cake pan. Pat the pineapple very dry between several sheets of paper towel, and arrange it evenly on top of the sugar mixture.

Sift together flour, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon.

In a large mixing bowl, cream the softened butter with the sugar until the mixture is light and fluffy. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Stir in the vanilla. Add the flour mixture in three parts alternately with the milk, beginning and ending with the flour mixture. Beat well after each addition. Spread the batter evenly into the prepared pan.

Place the cake in the middle of the oven. Bake for 45 to 55 minutes, or until a tester comes out clean.

Let the cake cool in the pan on a rack for 15 minutes. Run a thin knife around the edge, and invert the cake onto a plate. Serve the cake warm or at room temperature.

