Mozarella Stuffed Meatballs

After making the cheddar stuffed BBQ Bacon Burger I wondered about making a cheese stuffed meatball and realised I had an email notifying me of a post on another blog I read, HappyLifeHappyWife (with that name how could I not read the blog?), for Mozzarella Stuffed Meatballs.

Considering that Allan has been known to ask, “Will there be cheese?” when I mention what is for supper I know that stuffing cheese into things is always going to make him smile.

Mozzarella melting inside the meatball

Which reminds me of a joke prediction I read in January, “a well known pizza chain will work out how to stuff cheese into their cheese”. 

Cute.

But not as cute as the joke that has been making me laugh for the last ten minutes that came to me from my lovely friend, Roxanne.

“A noble gas walks into a bar. The bartender says, “Hey! We don’t serve your kind in here.” The noble gas didn’t react.”

I still am giggling about that twenty minutes later!

Ordinarily when I make meatballs I soak the breadcrumbs in the milk to help it hold, but this recipe was to throw everything in all at once, and who am I to argue.

Plus the noble gas didn’t react…  🙂

Also, the meatballs I make are generally around the size of a ping pong ball.  These…

Well, I cut the recipe in half, using 1/2 pound of beef, and I ended up with three meatballs.

Three.

Huge mozzarella stuffed meatballs

They are the size of Bob’s head!  Slight exaggeration… they are about the size of a baseball.

Next time I am going to reduce the size of the cheese and make smaller meatballs.  But it was fun to make them so big this time.

Allan could only manage to eat one. 


Mozzarella Stuffed Meatballs

•2 tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil
•1 lb lean ground beef
•1 large egg
•1/2 cup finely chopped white onion
•1/2 cup Panko bread crumbs
•1/2 cup fresh grated Parmesan cheese
•1/4 cup milk
•2 tbsp minced garlic
•1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
•1 tbsp yellow mustard
•1 tsp hot sauce
•1/2 tsp kosher salt
•1/4 tsp black pepper
•1/4 tsp garlic salt
•10 1-inch Mozzarella balls (or cut up cheese sticks if you want to be like me lol)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Grease a 13×9 inch baking dish with the olive oil.

Combine all of the ingredients (except the mozzarella cheese) in a large bowl.

Take 1/4 cup of the beef mixture and press into the center to make room for the Mozzarella. Place cheese in the middle and then enclose the beef around the cheese making sure it is completely covered.

Place meatballs in the prepared dish and bake for about 35 minutes or until cooked through.

Serve over pasta or in a meatball sub.

(http://happylifehappywife.wordpress.com/2011/04/01/mozzarella-stuffed-meatballs)

