Apple Pancakes with Apple and Maple Sauce

I just counted and this is the tenth pancake recipe I have posted.  TEN! And I have another three lined up…

Apple Pancakes with Apple and Maple Sauce

What is it about pancakes?  The fact that you cannot mess them up?  The way they make a lazy weekend breakfast/brunch feel so decadent?  That you can dress them up or down as you choose?

I don’t know.  I just know that these pancakes were great.  All pancakes are great actually, but the apple and brown sugar in this pancake makes it a little different.

It is Mother’s Day today in the UK.  My Mom is in Northern Ireland still, so today is Mother’s Day.  And if I had been able to make my mom breakfast in bed, these are what I would have made for her.

Happy Mother’s Day, Mom.  I love you.

Also, if anyone believes the whole “the first pancake never works out” myth I want to bust it open.  The first pancake works just as well as the second, third or eighteenth.  It is just that the cook deserves the first one. 🙂

"The first one never works" is code for "I ate it, so there!"

Apple Pancakes with Apple and Maple Sauce
(Makes 18 pancakes)

For Apple and Maple Sauce
• 2 apples peeled, cored, and diced (or 1 cup store-bought applesauce)
• 1/8 to ¼ cup brown sugar
• 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
• 2 tablespoons lemon juice
• ¼ teaspoon cinnamon
• 1 cup water
• ½ cup maple syrup

For Pancakes
• 1 apple peeled, cored, and roughly chopped
• 2 ½ cups whole milk
• 3 cups flour
• ½ teaspoon salt
• ½ cup brown sugar
• ½ teaspoon baking soda
• 2 teaspoons baking powder
• 3 eggs
• 3 tablespoons canola oil

For Apple Maple Sauce:

Cook all ingredients, except maple syrup, over medium heat until water is gone. Add maple syrup and serve as a condiment for the pancakes.

Note: If using store-bought applesauce, omit brown sugar, vanilla extract, lemon juice, and water, and use ¼ cup maple syrup and 1/8 teaspoon cinnamon.

For Pancakes:

Combine apple and milk in a blender and purée.

Combine all dry ingredients in a mixing bowl and add wet ingredients. Mix until smooth.

Drop on a hot griddle from a ¼ cup measuring cup. Flip when bubbles rise to surface, and cook until lightly brown on other side.

Serve immediately with the apple and maple sauce. (Or keep warm in a low oven until you are ready to serve.  I recommend that you serve them as soon as you can, though.)

I don’t know for sure how they freeze, but have double plastic wrapped the left over pancakes and reckon they will do fine.  I have frozen pancakes before and reheated in the oven for a fast pancake breakfast midweek.

