BBQ Bacon Cheeseburgers

BBQ Bacon Cheeseburgers.

I got this recipe from The Wednesday Baker Blog. Andi, who writes that blog, is so bad for me. I want to make everything she posts. And when I saw these I knew that Allan would love them, particularly as he happened to say to me a couple of days ago that he would like burgers some evening.

I knew that these would be perfect for him. I cut the amounts as I was only making a burger for Allan, and it worked out wonderfully.

Also, I didn’t have the liquid smoke, which I am sure would add a great depth of flavour. Once we move I am making them again, with the liquid smoke!

I loved the idea of the cheese surprise inside the burgers.

Big Burger!

BBQ Bacon Cheeseburgers

(The Wednesday Baker Blog)

• 1 (1 lb) package of bacon, cooked until crisp
• 2 pounds of ground chuck
• 3 tbsp hickory-flavored barbecue sauce
• 1 tbsp liquid smoke
• 1/2 tsp salt
• 12 slices of sharp cheddar cheese
• 1 large sweet onion
• 6 hamburger buns

Cook the bacon until crisp.

In a bowl add the ground chuck, 10 pieces of crumbled bacon, barbecue sauce, liquid smoke and salt and mix.

Shape into 12 thin burgers, about 4 inches.

On top of 6 of these burgers add small slices of the cheddar cheese, then top each burger with the remaining patties and seal the burger to keep the cheese hidden inside.

Cook these outside on the grill or inside on the electric griddle.

Toast the hamburger buns, top each burger with lettuce, sliced tomato, another slice of the cheddar cheese, a slice of bacon and serve with the following sauce or additional barbecue sauce.

(http://thewednesdaybaker.blogspot.com/2011/03/barbecue-bacon-cheeseburgers-ranch.html)

