Hot Apple Pie Sandwiches

"Hot Apple Pie" Sandwich

I got this recipe and was at once intrigued and repelled.

Apple and cheese?

Together?

I had to give it a go. It sounded too horrible not to be great!

Substitutions, there were a few as always…

I toasted the bread lightly, actually it was frozen bread so the toasting really just defrosted it.  Then I used sliced apple (we have apples!!!) and some apple sauce on top of the cheese instead of the suggested  frozen pie filling.

I treated it like a grilled cheese sandwich and when it was golden and the cheese was melted sliced it and discovered that it was not just great, but in fact totally amazing.

Of course, there are lots of people who knew that cheese and apple were great together already.  I didn’t.  Now I do!

Hot Apple Pie Sandwiches

• 1 (12-ounce) package Classic Dishes Harvest Apples, defrosted according to package directions (I used apple sauce and sliced apples)
• 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
• 8 slices white bread, lightly toasted
• 4 slices cheddar or American cheese, each cut into 4 strips
• 2 tablespoons butter or margarine, melted

Combine apples and cinnamon in small bowl.

Place cheese strips on outside perimeter of 4 slices of bread. Spoon apple mixture evenly into centers of each. Top with remaining slices of bread; press down slightly.

Just before adding a little more apple sauce and cinnamon

Brush sandwiches with butter.

Broil on each side until golden brown and cheese is melted.

