Slow Cooker Beef Bourguignon

I was bemoaning my lack of imagination when it came to beef chunks when I had a huge bag of it to use when I was given the suggestion to use it for Beef Bourguignon.

Of course, as always, there are confessions.  I used tinned mushrooms.  O_O

We just can’t get fresh ones and I was not happy about buying tinned, and had images in my head of the various looks of disgust from most people reading this (if indeed, anyone does…) but in my defense there are worse things I could have picked up from that shelf.

Did you know you can get tinned whole chickens?  Tinned hotdogs?  Tinned potatoes?????

That last one nearly knocked me over dead.

So, when it comes down to it, tinned mushrooms were the least of the available sins.

Also, I can’t get any kind of wine, never mind the Cabernet Sauvignon specified.  I looked up substitutions. 

I am betting the vitners of France would be delighted to hear that some people reckon water and vinegar is a substitute…

I went with plain water.  Not turning it into wine, just stock.

I got this recipe from the Chatelaine recipe site, and the substitutions I made worked out well. So, it was all good.   I made less than the suggestion as I didn’t want to have lots of leftovers as it was just Allan eating it.

It was suggested that it be served with potatoes, I went with rice.  Which is completely unlike me, as any excuse for potatoes and I am there, but we couldn’t get any this week.  And tinned potatoes…

Never!

A great suggestion for using up some of those beef chunks! Thank you, A Boleyn.

Allan really enjoyed it, having two servings and asking me to make it again.

Slow Cooker Beef Bourguignon

  • 1 kg cubed stewing beef
  • 227 g pkg sliced button mushrooms (I used a tin…)
  • 3 carrots, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 14 g pkg dried mixed mushrooms, crumbled (I skipped this as I didn’t have it, but I reckon it would be a great addition in the future.)
  • 2 tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp dried thyme leaves
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 cup beef broth
  • 1/2 cup red wine, preferably cabernet sauvignon
  • 250 g thick cut bacon, sliced

Pat beef with paper towel to remove excess moisture. Combine with mushrooms, carrots, garlic, onion and dried mushrooms in slow-cooker insert.

Sprinkle fl our and thyme overtop and stir vegetables until coated. Add bay leaves. Pour in broth and wine. Cover and cook on low until very tender, about 8 hours.

Heat a frying pan over medium-high. Add bacon. Stir often until crisp around the edges, reducing heat if needed, for 5 to 8 min. Scoop into a small bowl. Remove excess fat with paper towel. Stir bacon into beef mixture during last 15 min of cooking.

Remove and discard bay leaves. Serve with mashed potatoes or crusty bread. Stew will keep well, covered and refrigerated, for at least 2 days, and can be frozen in an airtight container or zip-top freezer bag up to 1 month.

