Martha Stewart’s Raisin Bran Muffins

Raisin Bran Muffins.  There was a reason I first made these.

Last year Allan loved Raisin Bran cereal. He couldn’t get enough of it. He had it for breakfast at least three times a week.

When we moved here I ordered a huge box through the food mail. It even had “Jumbo” written on it as it was so big.  It arrived and I felt proud of being able to give him a cereal he loved so much.

We hadn’t had it for over three months, so I was sure that he would be happy to see the “surprise” I had for his breakfast.

Turns out, not so much. He looked at the bowl of cereal which I presented with such pride, a sliced banana on the side and a huge smile on my face.

He looked at the bowl of cereal, then looked at me, then back to the cereal and back to me before asking, “What did I do wrong? Did I lose a bet?”

O_O

Bear in mind that this wasn’t just a box of cereal that I lifted off a shelf in a supermarket. It was a box of cereal I had to order and have flown up to us.

And not only was it expensive but it was a big box.  A “Jumbo” box!

Which I could see was about to be wasted.

I turned to Martha Stewart for help.

Raisin Bran Muffins are acceptable it seems.  More than acceptable in fact. 

Thank goodness!

One of the great things about these muffins is that they keep well for a few days in an airtight container.  And like all muffins they take minutes to mix up.

Raisin Bran Muffins
recipe courtesy of Martha Stewart

  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil, plus more for tin
  • 1 1/2 cups raisin bran cereal
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup whole-wheat flour (spooned and leveled)
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour (spooned and leveled)
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • 1/4 cup packed dark-brown sugar

Preheat oven to 400.

Lightly oil a 6-cup standard muffin tin, or use paper liners.

In a medium bowl, combine cereal and milk; let stand until softened, about 5 minutes. In a small bowl, whisk together flours, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt.

Stir oil, egg, and sugar into cereal mixture. Fold in flour mixture.

Divide batter among cups.

Bake until a toothpick inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean, 20 to 25 minutes.

Cool in tin 5 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack; let cool completely, or serve warm.

 Store up to 5 days at room temperature in a resealable plastic bag.

