Banana Pancakes

Spring Break started this morning and what better way to celebrate the holiday than a lazy breakfast in bed.  And pancakes sounded just right.

And, handily enough, I happened to have a ripe banana sitting on the counter looking woefully at me.

Banana Pancakes with sauted bananas

Bananas and pancakes seem to me to be one of those perfect combinations, like chocolate and orange.  And having banana in the actual pancake batter seemed like sheer genius to me.

I had this recipe in my “must make” list for about a fortnight, I was planning on waiting until the summer to make it, as I don’t have some of the ingredients.  And I can’t get them here.  But I had that ripe banana calling to me.

So, I substituted All Purpose flour for wholewheat and 2% milk for the almond milk.

It was still great, and I am looking forward to making it with the suggested ingredients in the summer.

Healthy Banana Pancakes
Based on the recipe from Skinny Taste.

Makes 7 nicely sized pancakes.

Ingredients
• 1 cup whole wheat flour
• 2 tsp. baking powder
• ¼ tsp. table salt
• ¼ tsp. cinnamon
• 1 cup unsweetened vanilla flavored almond milk
• 3 large egg whites
• 2 tsp. canola oil
• 1 Tbsp. honey
• 1 large, very ripe banana, mashed
• Nonstick cooking spray

Place a baking sheet in oven and preheat to 200° F.

In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the egg whites, almond milk, canola oil, honey, and banana.

In another bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, table salt, and cinnamon. Fold the dry ingredients into the wet until just mixed.

Heat a very large nonstick pan (or griddle) over medium heat. Spray with nonstick spray and ladle 1/3-cup of batter for each pancake. When the pancakes are bubbling on the edges and all over, about 3 minutes, flip. Cook another 2 minutes and place cooked pancakes in oven while the others finish.

Serve with pure maple syrup and sauted bananas.

I got this recipe from http://www.jonesing-for.com/2010/10/healthy-banana-pancakes/

