Slow Cooker Beef Goulash

I posted a couple of days ago about having a huge pack of frozen beef chunks that I had run out of ideas for.  I got some great suggestions and this was one.

Beef Goulash.

The recipe is from allrecipes.com.  It is a double win as it uses beef chunks and is also a slow cooker recipe.  I love my slow cooker.  Lots.

It makes a huge amount of goulash, and I didn’t want to have so much, as only Allan will be eating it.  I made a third of the recipe.

The smell of the onions as I was browning them was so tempting that I almost just ate them and started again for the goulash, but I resisted. 

Will power?  It seems I do have some…

Who would have thought it?

Onions... yum!

My mom used to make this when we were kids, so I should have thought of it, but for some reason I had completely forgotten its very existence.

Allan commented last night that he is enjoying everything I cook for him.  That made me smile.  I love making things that he enjoys.

But then, I just love Allan.  🙂

Despite being in a place where it is well nigh impossible to get good produce at any price, nevermind a reasonable price, I reckon we are doing pretty well menu wise.  Thankfully I had brought a great range of spices with us.  And we got good onions last week.  I was happy and ate half a raw one with mashed potatoes.  Always with the mashed potatoes for me.

The goulash was nicely spiced and went well with some plain boiled rice.

Beef Goulash

  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 3 onions, sliced
  • 3 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1/4 cup smoked Spanish paprika
  • 2 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon coarsely ground black pepper
  • 3 pounds lean beef stew meat, cut into 1-inch cubes
  • 3 tablespoons vegetable oil, divided
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1 (6 ounce) can tomato paste
  • 1/2 cup sour cream (optional)
  • 8 sprigs fresh parsley (optional)

Heat 1 tablespoon oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Cook and stir onions until they soften and begin to brown at the edges, 8 to 10 minutes. Add the garlic and cook for one minute. Transfer mixture to a slow cooker. Cover and set cooker to Low.

Mix together paprika, salt, and pepper in a large bowl. Toss the meat cubes in the paprika mixture until evenly coated.

Heat one tablespoon of the oil in the skillet over medium-high heat. Put a third of the beef cubes into the skillet and cook until nicely browned on all sides. Transfer to the slow cooker. Pour 2 tablespoons of water into the skillet and scrape the browned bits from the pan; pour liquid into the slow cooker. This prevents the paprika from burning when you brown the next batches of beef. Add another tablespoon of oil to the skillet and cook the next batch the same way; repeat for the third batch.

Stir the tomato paste and the rest of the water into the slow cooker; cover. Cook on High for 4 to 5 hours (or on Low for 6 to 9 hours).

Serve goulash over noodles or rice with a dollop of sour cream and a sprig of parsley.

