Slow Cooker Barbeque Chicken

I found two frozen chicken legs with thighs in the back of the freezer this morning.  And now it is spring, yes it is spring despite the knee high snow still everywhere we look, I decided it was time to barbeque.

But there were several problems. 

Not the least being that we gave our barbeque away in our last move… 

So my slow cooker came once more to the rescue!

I have had this barbeque sauce in my “to do” recipe file for the last couple of years, and forgotten all about it, so I was delighted to find it and to be able to use it.

I didn’t have lemon juice, so I substituted vinegar.  I also left out the hot sauce as Allan really doesn’t like things too hot and he is just starting to feel better so spice wasn’t a great idea.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken Legs

  • 14 chicken legs
  • 2 cups ketchup
  • ½  cup honey
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tbsp paprika
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 ½ tsp curry powder
  • ½ tsp pepper
  • 1/8 tsp hot pepper sauce

 Directions

Combine all in a crock pot and cook 5-6 hours.  If chicken is frozen cook for 8 hours.

So tough.  Life is hard being a domestic goddess! 🙂

It was fall off the bone tender, with the sauce being sweet barbeque with a nice tang.

