Cheesy Garlic Chunks Dog Cookies

I made Bob cookies this morning.

Bob Approved!

It might be said that Bob is spoilt.  Not by Bob, of course, because he is convinced that he has a hard life and never gets anything he wants.  Like being allowed to chew on random, rotting caribou bones he finds in the field.  He isn’t allowed.   Life is not fair!

He is fond of treats, and partially because we can’t get treats here but mostly because I want to make sure that whatever he eats is good for him, I make his treats.  Plus I do love any excuse to bake or cook.  But mostly I do want his food to be good for him.  Hence not being allowed to chew on the random bones he finds.  Mean, aren’t I?

He loves the cake I made first for his first birthday, https://happydomesticity.wordpress.com/2011/02/18/happy-birthday-bobby/

I love it too, as it is full of things that are good for him, and also it freezes really well so I can make a couple at once, and then cut them up and double plastic wrap before slipping into a freezer bag or box and keeping them frozen until Bob needs them.

His idea of when he needs treats is admittedly different from mine.  And mine is different from Allan’s.  Allan shakes his head when I say that Bob needs a treat and he asks why only to hear me say something like, “He’s breathing!” or “He did such a good pee!”.

But he doesn’t miss out.  Believe me, he gets plenty of treats.

This morning I decided to try another recipe for cookies for Bob.  Full of cheese, which he loves, and garlic which is good for him.

It took just minutes to prepare the dough, which needs to chill out in the fridge for half an hour before rolling out and cutting into shapes then being baked.

Bob is my oven guard, no matter what I am baking or cooking.  And while these were baking, he didn’t move an inch.  Just in case of those pesky cat burglars. 🙂 

Puppy Cheesy Garlic Chunks

  • 1 ½  cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 ¼  cups grated cheese, (cheddar or something mild)
  • ½  stick/ ¼ cup softened butter
  • 1 – 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • Milk as needed

Cream the cheese and butter together.

Add the garlic. Add the flour and mix thoroughly.

Add enough milk to form into a ball.

Chill for 1/2 hour or so. Roll onto a lightly floured surface.

Cut into shapes and bake at 375 degrees for 15 minutes or until lightly golden brown and firm.

Makes 2-3 dozen cookies.  I use the 1/8 measuring cup as a cutter and get 42 cookies. 

Bob would tell you how good these are, but he is a bit busy eating them!

