Slow Cooker Beef Fajita Stew

There were a couple of reasons I made this stew today.  Firstly, slow cooker… love!  And secondly we have a lot of beef in chunks that I was a bit lost about using.  And thirdly, the reason I am using the beef chunks is that we are out of chicken and ground beef and I have an order in for it but the food mail doesn’t come until the weekend. 


Allan is in for lots of beef chunks this week! 🙂

Also,I decided that I wanted to use tortillas so instead of serving it over the rice I added the rice to the stew and put it into the tortillas with sour cream and cheese.

Always with the cheese.  At times I tell Allan what is for supper and his only question is, “Will there be cheese?”.  Fond of cheese, I reckon.

Slow Cooker Beef Fajita Stew

  • 2 1/2 pounds boneless beef top round steak
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 can (14 oz size) diced tomatoes, undrained
  • 1 envelope (1 ounce size) fajita seasoning mix
  • 1 red bell pepper, cut into 1 inch pieces
  • 1 green bell pepper, cut into 1 inch pieces
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup water

4 cups hot cooked rice to serve

 Trim excess fat from beef and cut into 2 inch pieces. (I browned the beef before putting into the slow cooker, just to add a little bit more flavour from the browning.   But it is totally an optional step.)

Combine with onion in a slow cooker.

Mix together fajita seasoning mix and undrained tomatoes and pour over beef. Place peppers on top.

Cover crockpot and cook on low for 7 to 9 hours until beef is tender.

Combine flour with water in a small bowl and stir well to mix. Add gradually to crockpot and stir well.

Cover slow cooker and cook on high for 15 to 20 minutes until thickened, stirring occasionally.

Serve stew with hot cooked rice.

