Ground Beef Meat Pie

A few months ago, while watching a football match, Allan told me about how he used to go to matches and get the meat pies.  And then he told me about his mom making them for him as well.

Of c0urse, as soon as he told me about this I had to make him a meat pie.  I love it when he mentions something he really would like and can’t wait to make it for him.

I didn’t use a recipe per se.  This is something my mom taught me and the amounts vary depending on mood.

I browned the ground beef and drained off the fat, before adding to a large pot with diced onions, carrots, a small diced potato and covering with water.  I also added a couple of beef stock cubes, a generous dash of wuster sauce and seasoned with pepper.  You could add some peas, but Allan is a bit lary of too many vegetables and I didn’t want to put him off.  Plus, he described the pie he remembered and I wanted to make one close to his description, barring the gross bits.  You don’t want to know.  Believe me.

He described the small, individual pies but I made a larger version.  Mostly because I didn’t have small pie cases.

It cooked until the carrot and potato was tender and the liquid had turned to gravy.  I didn’t need to, but if necessary, cornstarch can be used to thicken the liquid.  As it is going into a pie it needed to be fairly thick.

I used my mom’s pastry recipe (which I can’t lay my hands on right now, I am in the middle of moving all my recipes to my laptop and it seems to have disappeared into the ether for now…), lining a pie dish, then filling with the beef mixture and topping with some pastry, which got an egg wash and was slashed to let the heat out, before baking at 350 degrees until golden brown.

It had to be served with brown sauce. Tradition you know!

