The Ultimate Buttermilk Biscuits

I have a confession to make before I begin.  I truly thought that I had already found the perfect biscuit recipe. 

I subscribe to The Wednesday Baker blog and she had a recipe for a biscuit that was different from all of the recipes I had tried for biscuits before.  I had planned to make biscuits to go with supper so decided to try this new recipe instead of one of my other go to recipes.

I also messed up. 

I was making two things at once and skipped a step in the recipe.  I forgot to add the butter and it was only after adding the wet ingredients that I realised.  And I couldn’t really go back to add the butter to the dry ingredients so I decided to melt the butter and add it that way.

It was a great mistake!

I am going to try the recipe next time the way it is written, but I have to say that the biscuits I made tonight were seriously outstanding.  They were amazingly light and airy, yet buttery and so delicious.

I might make the same mistake again on purpose.

Buttermilk Biscuits

(The Wednesday Baker Blog)

  • 3 cups flour
  • 4 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 tsp cream of tartar
  • 3/4 cup of softened butter
  • 1 egg, slightly beaten
  • 1 cup buttermilk

In a large bowl combine the flour, baking powder, sugar, salt and cream of tartar.

Cut into this the softened butter, mixing with spoon.  (This was where I made my mistake and skipped this step.)

Add the slightly beaten egg and the buttermilk.

(It was now that I remembered the butter.  How I can have forgotten butter is beyond me.  Butter runs in my veins!  I melted the butter and added it to the rest of the ingredients at this stage.)

On a lightly floured board knead the dough for a few minutes, roll to 1 inch thick and cut with a 2 1/2 inch biscuit cutter.

Place the biscuits in a 9×13 inch buttered baking pan. Bake for about 10-15 minutes at 450 degrees until golden brown.

The original post can be found at:  http://thewednesdaybaker.blogspot.com/2011/03/buttermilk-biscuits.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+TheWednesdayBaker+%28The+Wednesday+Baker%29

And, I want to thank Andi for this genius recipe!

