Monkey Bread

The Artisan bread dough, that I have constantly in the fridge, really is very versatile.  Baked as in the link, https://happydomesticity.wordpress.com/2011/03/13/artisan-bread/ , it produces a great boule, fluffy on the inside with a great crust. 

Baked as rolls, without the steam, it makes soft buns.  Rolled out it makes a really good pizza crust.   Rolled it makes great cinnamon rolls.

And this morning it made fun monkey bread.

I haven’t made monkey bread before.  Because I hadn’t heard of it.  But I was googling random recipes, which I seem to do a lot…, and I came across it.

I used my artisan bread dough rather than make different bread dough but followed the suggestions to make the monkey bread.

Of course, I don’t have a bundt pan.  I am lucky to have a cake tin at the moment.  But when we move… (that is the eternal cry in our house from both of us!).

I have only one regret with this.  I made enough for two of us.  I should have made more.  Well, I shouldn’t.  But I wish I had.  It wouldn’t have been wasted…

This would be great with a glaze as a dessert or for a party.  Or just because. 🙂

Allan reckoned it was a bit reminiscent of apple fritters.  Which, of course, has me thinking of trying it with some chopped apple and apple sauce added next time, too.

My genius friend, Melissa, suggested adding some garlic and onion powder to the dough, then dipping the balls in the melted butter and rolling in parmesan and onion powder before baking.   So, guess what I am making during the coming week!! Thanks, Melissa!

As with the artisan bread recipe I took out a grapefruit sized piece of dough kneaded slightly then formed a ball which I left to rise for twenty minutes.

While the dough is rising, get the dipping stations ready.

Brown Sugar Coating:

  • 1 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 8 TBSP (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted

Melt butter and place in a small bowl.  I guess you could melt it in a bowl in the microwave, if you have one.

Mix brown sugar and cinnamon in second bowl.

Set aside a fork and 2 spoons.

When dough is doubled, turn out onto lightly floured surface and gently pat into a square about 1/2 inch thick. Do your best to guess.

I cut it into four rows, and then cut one row at a time into four and formed into balls.

I was making a small loaf as it was just for the two of us.

Roll each piece of dough into a ball and one at a time, dip in melted butter. Use fork to drain excess butter before placing in brown sugar mixture. 

Use 2 spoons to gently cover ball in sugar mixture. 

Shake excess and place in buttered pan. Stagger the seams where the dough balls meet as you layer.

Cover bundt tightly with plastic wrap and leave to rise until balls are puffy and 1-2 inches from top of bundt pan, around 20 minutes.

Heat oven to 350. Unwrap pan and bake until top is brown (sugar may begin to bubble), 20-35 minutes. The timing really depends on how many balls you put into your pan.

Cool in pan for 5 minutes (longer and it will stick) before inverting onto serving platter/plate.

